St John’s, Newfoundland

Last Friday I was told I needed to be in St John’s, Newfoundland by Monday. Unfortunately, St John’s is almost 2,000 miles away from Minneapolis (it’s closer to Ireland!) and requires a connecting flight (11 hours of travel, yay). Fortunately, my visit was only an hour long and my report was only four questions, so I’ve had the rest of the afternoon free! And what to do with a ‘free’ 36 hours in Newfoundland? Well, I decided to go to the most Easterly point in North America.

Cape Spear is only about fifteen minutes from my hotel in St John’s, but detours through residential and rural neighborhoods, and down narrow highways lined with yellow-leaved trees. But the view from the point looking back towards St John’s was pretty, if a little bit gray:

The most Easterly point wasn’t well labeled so I meandered around the WWII cannon artillery for a little bit:

Cape Spear served as a North American defense point in WWII. These cannons were provided to Canada by the United States through the Wartime Arms Agreement. Don’t think I didn’t laugh like a 13-year-old boy as I snapped this shot:

From the artillery I decided to climb up to the lighthouses:

Truthfully, that picture above was not taken from the artillery, but rather from a point further down the hill…I used it for the dramatic effect :) But from the artillery, I did have to climb these stairs to get to the new lighthouse:

And then had to climb these stairs up to the oldest lighthouse in Canada:

I absolutely adore lighthouses. I could take a bajillion pictures and still not feel satisfied. So you, dear reader, are now subjected to two more lighthouse photos:

After wandering around for quite a bit, I eventually found the most easterly point in North America!! Actually, there was a “Most Easterly Point” as identified by this sign…

…but there was also a path below the “Most Easterly Point”, which was quite obviously even more eastern than the “Most Easterly Point”. So I took a victory picture here:

It was blustery and rainy and cold, but it was well worth the trip. Newfoundland is lovely! And since it is surprisingly close to the UK, there is a huge Irish and Scottish influence here. People speak in an interesting Canadian version of a brogue, and the men like to call me darlin’. Even my rental car GPS has an accent “In tah-hunert mayters, tarn laft” which translates to “In two hundred meters, turn left”. The architecture falls somewhere between Old World harbor town and modern day suburbs. It’s quite cute and remote. I wouldn’t mind returning for a more full tour of both Newfoundland and Labrador.

And finally. The “Harbour View” from my hotel window was not so picturesque as one might imagine, but all-in-all this has been a great little trip:

4 responses to “St John’s, Newfoundland

  1. Glad you enjoyed your short visit. FYI, St. John’s and the east coast of Newfoundland was just voted the best coastal vacation destination in the world by National Geographic Travel magazine! Check it out.

  2. Newfoundland and St.John’s are definitely destinations I would like to visit in the future. I like remote wild places and I’ve heard that the people there are really friendly.

  3. Pythagoras Spreads - Tarot Card Reading

    Really nice pictures! You may be interested in the shot I took from the top of signal hill; a full moon just above the ocean!

Leave a Reply

