ARC YOU KIDDING ME?!?!

HOLY COW!!! HOLY COW!!! HOLY COW!!! HOLY COW!!! HOLY COW!!!

I was sitting in a training workshop today when the office doorbell rang, and one of my coworkers came in and handed me a mystery package. I was perplexed! The only package I am expecting from Amazon.com is a Europe-American plug adaptor for my trip abroad, and that package will be significantly smaller than what was plopped onto my lap. What could it be?? Well, I’ll tell you folks…

…It was an advanced reading copy (ARC) of Robin McKinely’s new book, Pegasus!!

This is how happy I am to have received this ARC!

I can’t believe it! I never get what I want, even when I ask (and yes, I got down on my virtual hands and knees and e-begged the publisher for a shot at this ARC). And now I have the absolute HONOR of reading my favorite author’s new book AGES before most other people.

This is how smug I will look as I am reading my favorite author's new book before
everybody else.

There are all sorts of cute things about ARCs, as I have just learned. It’s in paperback, for one. I thought it would be hard-covered like newly released novels. Instead it’s the thinnest, most insubstantial flap of a cover, but with the original artwork for the actual release! The front says Advance Uncorrected Galleys–Not for Sale (this makes me geek out to the most geekiest of extremes). There is a blurb just inside the front cover that says:

THESE ARE UNCORRECTED ADVANCE GALLEYS FOR YOUR REVIEWING CONVENIENCE

In quoting from this book for reviews or other purposes, it is essential that the final printed book be referred to, since the author may make changes before the book goes to press.

So basically Robin McKinley, my most favorite of favorite authors, could decide that she needs to change something in between the ARC I hold in my hand and the final version that is released to the world. This book is still being actively thought about by my most favorite of favorite authors! Teaser Tuesdays be damned! I don’t need you when I know Robin McKinely herself is still actively bound to this novel (and Pegasus II which, per her blog, is currently in the works…funny cuz she does’t do sequels as a rule).

And the cutest thing about ARCs? This tiny little label that alerts the world when the novel will be released for real (NOV 2010):

How freaking cute is this?!?! So cute I could run up and down the street screaming for joy!

Cuz I could. I could run up and down the street waving this book and screaming for joy. I am so excited that my liver is actually failing (seriously now, why ARE my hands so yellow in that picture?!) I can’t wait to read it, and I can’t wait to review it. I can’t wait to run out to the store and buy the hard cover version when it’s released in November–because I will do so, even if it’s merely to hunt down the differences between the two books. But let’s be honest, I will do more than just hunt down the differences. I will read it over and over and over again because there isn’t a book of her’s I haven’t read fewer than four times.

7 responses to “ARC YOU KIDDING ME?!?!

  1. You know how to read? And you have a blog? Wow!
    I like it.

  2. Oh happy day! That’s awesome, Erin! Can’t wait to hear about it. I’ve been interested in this novel since I saw the awesome cover artwork on someone else’s blog way back.

  3. That is so cool! I’ve never even thought about obtaining an ARC – how did you go about securing it?

  4. Christy – Yea, seriously. The cover art is amazing! I want hair that red and long…oh, and a black Pegasus.

    Scott – Robin McKinley posted contact info for requesting an ARC on her website. I wrote about two months ago with scant hopes of even getting one. I didn’t hear anything and thought I wasn’t worthy, and LO!! Friday proved that maybe I was indeed worthy!

    • By the way, what is this series about?

      • The jist of it is that Pegasi are glorious and sentient beings whose existence was threatened until humans appeared in their valley. The humans and the Pegasi formed a precarious Alliance made more difficult by the profound differences in communication between the two species. To ensure the Alliance is maintained, important humans are bound to important Pegasi once they read age 12, but these bonds are tenuous at best and both parties must still speak through an interpretor. However, when Sylvi and her Pegasus are bound, theirs is such a strong connection that the Alliance and the survival of both species is imperiled.

Leave a Reply

