Teaser Tuesday

It’s Teaser Tuesday time folks!! I haven’t participated in awhile and I must confess that rarely, if ever, am I afflicted with this disorder: For all the books that are on my TBR list, not a one is appealing to me right now! I have no idea what to read next! Today’s Teaser is from an old fave.

Teaser Tuesday is weekly bookish meme hosted by Miz B of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along, just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My Teaser:
“Kibeth.” Kibeth, the walker. A bell of several sounds, a difficult and contrary bell. It could give freedom of movement to one of the Dead, or walk them through the next gate. Many a necromancer had stumbled with Kibeth and walked where they would not. — page 81, Sabriel by Garth Nix.

I *LOVE* this series! It is so imaginative and convincing. Garth Nix has created a spectacularly brilliant world. I love his reimagining of necromancers: As usual, necromancers raise the dead and wreak havoc. The Abhorsen, of whom there is only one, is the good necromancer who helps to usher spirits into the Land of the Dead. My absolute favorite aspect of this series is how the Abhorsen and the necromancers use bells to command or guide the Dead. It’s fabulous, I highly recommend the novel to everyone, even those who don’t consider themselves ‘fantasy’ readers.

2 responses to “Teaser Tuesday

  1. I’m not familiar with Nix or Sabriel, but it sounds interesting. Looks like my library has a copy so I’ll try to pick it up tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

