Teaser Tuesday: Hush by Donna Jo Napoli

TEASER TUESDAY: is a weekly bookish meme hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the Title & Author so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teaser

 MY TEASER

Nearby I hear feet tramping, struggling.
Brigid?
Where is Brigid?

–lines 979-981 (Kindle), Hush by Donna Jo Napoli

I was browsing Kindle books (because I obviously don’t have enough), and ran across this one. The premise seemed very interesting, especially since I recently had a dream in which I was recruited to travel back in time to observe history. The only caveat was that I couldn’t speak, lest I inadvertently change history. The main character, Melkorka, is an Irish princess who is captured by Vikings and takes a vow of silence to steel herself against her captors.

First impressions: 

The novel has started off rather slowly, but I enjoy that Melkorka isn’t perfect. Too often main characters, especially princesses, are infallible. Kind and beautiful and smart, and so on. There are some characteristics of Melkorka that are genuinely unlikeable. The novel picked up pace towards the end of Part One and Part Two begins her kidnapped phase.

14 responses to “Teaser Tuesday: Hush by Donna Jo Napoli

  1. Wondering where Bridget is too and who is struggling with who. Great choice.

  2. Great teaser! Here is this week’s teaser.

  3. I can feel panic rising! Good teaser.

    My teaser is here

  4. I like this teaser and the book sounds like something I would enjoy.

    here is mine http://livemorenow.wordpress.com/2010/03/09/teaser-tuesday-the-girl-with-the-dragon-tattoo/

  5. Sounds interesting from the synopsis. Hope you’re enjoying it despite the slow start. Here’s my teaser . Have a great week and happy reading.

  6. Vivid dream you had. You should write it all down! Great tease from your book too.

  7. Great teaser, short but suspenseful! Mine is at The Crowded Leaf.

  8. Fabulous! Love the cover, too. There are several books out there with this title, I’ve noticed…

    BTW…your blog header captivates me!

    My teaser:

    http://rainysnowday.wordpress.com/2010/03/09/teaser-tuesdays-3/

  9. Very cool teaser. Enjoy your book! Here’s Mine

  10. This is the second book HUSH I’ve come across today.. but I think they are two different novels. This one has a very interesting synopsis… Great teaser, too!

    My teaser: We the Children

  11. Looking forward to your review of this one! Goodreads reviews were very divided in opinion, but I really liked its haunting nature.

  12. That is an interesting premise – good teaser!

    My teaser is here.

Leave a Reply

