Teaser Tuesday: Book of a Thousand Days

TEASER TUESDAY: is a weekly bookish meme hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the Title & Author so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teaser

MY TEASER:

Day 812: It’s my honor to serve. It’s my honor, I know it is, and yet…Ancestors, don’t read this, but I begin to wonder, is it right? The lady is jailed for neglecting her duty, but I am jailed for fulfilling mine. –page 94, Book of a Thousand Days by Shannon Hale.


 

My friend Carol and I were discussing books in the lunch room one day. I told Carol that I wanted to lend her a book by my favorite author because I knew she would love it and instantly become a fan of everything this author had ever written. But I also told Carol that I was scared to actually recommend it to her because there was one line in the book that was uncharacteristic of the author and I didn’t want to be judged on that line alone. Carol looked at me weirdly and said “Sunshine?”

I think my jaw actually dropped because that was the exact novel I meant. From that moment on, Carol has been lending me books she knows I will love. She lent this one to me over six months ago and I haven’t gotten the chance to read it until now. But in flipping through the novel to find a teaser quote, I think Carol hit the nail on the head. I predict I will love this book.

19 responses to “Teaser Tuesday: Book of a Thousand Days

  1. I keep hearing great things about this book. Look forward to reading your review once you are done.

    Here is mine.

  2. Great teaser, thanks for bringing this book to my attention.

    here is mine http://livemorenow.wordpress.com/2010/02/16/teaser-tuesday-100216/

  3. I haven’t heard of this book before but it sounds really good. Great teaser!

  4. I love it when a friends book rec works so well!

    I have shared two teasers this week!

  5. Wow, this sounds like a great read. Hope you are enjoying the book. Here’s my teaser

  6. justbookreading

    Good teaser! It’s wonderful when you can recommend books like that. Here’s mine this week – http://justbookreading.com/2010/02/16/teaser-tuesdays-3-for-1-tuesday-special/.

  7. Very interesting teaser! Hope the book lives up to it!

  8. got to get that one.

    here’s mine from BRAVA, VALENTINE and I have 5 copies of BRAVA to giveaway.

    http://blog.readinggroupchoices.com/content/blog/barbara/10/february/teaser-tuesday-216-brava-valentine

  9. Great tease, this book sounds interesting. Mine is at The Crowded Leaf.

  10. That sounds interesting – I wonder what crimes they are serving for? Makes it a good teaser.

    My naughty teaser is here.

  11. This looks like a terrific novel. Great teaser!

  12. I wonder what they did or didn’t do. Great teaser!

  13. I really liked this book, so enjoy! By the way, I’m planning on picking up Sunshine from the library today, if it’s still on the shelves when I get there. :)

    • Oh goodie!!

      And yes, the book is fantastic so far! I actually teased myself with this little quote and accidentally stayed up until 4:15am reading. Oops!

      Totally worth it though, I think I love this book!

  14. I did enjoy this book. Much more than I enjoyed Sunshine and I usually love Robin McKinley. I need to give Sunshine another try.

    My teaser is here.

    • Excellent to hear! I stayed up way too late last night reading it and plan to finish it tonight!

      And, you know, the first time I read Sunshine I enjoyed it, a lot actually. But I didn’t thoroughly appreciate it until the second time around. I think on the first read, I wasn’t quite able to get past the whole “It reminds me of Buffy” thing. Now I count it as tied (with about half her other books) for first amoung her novels. Once I got over the minor similarities between Sunshine and Buffy, I realized that she brought a unique perspective on magic and vampires, and I loved the uniqueness of the sharing and the tenuous partnership between her and Con. I also love that she didn’t really go into the history of the wars to much, you as the read just have to accept as fact the events in that world.

      Carol (mentioned in the post) wishes McKinely would go back and do a Sunshine sequel, a common pleading amoung Sunshine fans, but I think the book ended perfectly and I want nothing more than the image created in my head by those very last lines.

Leave a Reply

