Teaser Tuesday: Jacob Have I Loved

As you may have noticed, I haven’t updated in awhile. My excuse is that I’m still in the middle of my move (I probably won’t be completely moved in until March since I’m gone so frequently), and don’t yet have reliable internet. I certainly don’t have time to read very much right now, but yesterday I did dedicate my entire plane trip to Denver to one of my current reads. Yay. That’s the one bonus of traveling for work. At least twice a week, I have dedicated me-time where I can just sit and read and no one can get ahold of me…although people can elbow me in the side for 2 hours and 20 minutes (thanks guy sitting next to me).  Anyways, happy Tuesday (it is currently 12am Tuesday morning in Denver, pay no attention to the time stamp in the corner) all: 

  TEASER TUESDAY: is a weekly bookish meme hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:  

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the Title & Author so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teaser

 
MY TEASER

 Every now and then I would grab the paling of one of the picket fences lining the street to steady  myself against the wind. It was blowing from the northwest, so making my way southeast toward the Captain’s house, I had the feeling that at any moment the wind might lift me off my feet and deposit me in the Bay. –lines 1245-1250, Jacob Have I Loved by Katherine Paterson. 

  

I first read this book when I was about 8…a very single-minded 8-year-old, there are just a few novels I read that didn’t involve a dog as a main or major character in the book.  The non-dog books I read usually dealt with young, strong, tom-boyish girl leads…Anne of Green Gables, Little House on the Prairie, and Caddie Woodlawn are a few that come to mind. I read Jacob Have I Loved on the recommendation of my mom. I remember liking it up until the time Sara Louise leaves the island, at which point I lost interest.  I finished reading it, but I hardly remember anything after Wheez leaving the island.

I’m excited to re-read this as an adult. I wonder what different perspectives I’ll have as an adult, or if my disinterest in the second half of the novel was founded on anything valid.

12 responses to “Teaser Tuesday: Jacob Have I Loved

  1. I like the second line of your teaser.

    Mine is from a Japanese Writer

  2. I don’t recall hearing about this book before.

    My teaser is here

  3. That’s the beauty of reading – the excitement, wonder and fun! Glad you could share this, and your experience with us. Hope you enjoy it – this time!

    Here is my Teaser Tuesday with a giveaway!

    I hope you can join in with the fun!

    Sassy

  4. It’s always interesting to see if your perspective has changed. Hope you enjoy it. Here’s my teaser

  5. I love that – rereading books from childhood is so lovely. I regularly reread Enid Blyton books and I’m 38 (lol)!

    Here is mine: http://boofsbookshelf.com/tag/teaser-tusedays/

  6. Oh, I loved the Anne of Green Gables books! I haven’t read this one…sounds intriguing.

    My teaser:

    http://laurel-rainsnowsreflections.blogspot.com/2010/02/teaser-tuesdays_09.html

  7. I like that – I love the feeling of the wind carrying me along.

    My teaser is here.

  8. This snippet is lovely!

Leave a Reply

